October 9, 2007

  • Digest Email

    I don't know what's up with my digest emails, but I'm gonna' take Sheryl's advice and change everyone to no email today, then change back to digest emails tomorrow with the hopes that I get my digest emails again on a daily basis.  It seems like every time there is some change with Xanga, then something on my end goes askew!  I'm beginning to wonder if the Xanga gods dislike me.

    Allopathic Medicines

    This is what most people adhere to as the cutting edge of healing.  By the way, allopathy was a coined phrase to refer to conventional medicine as opposed to homeopathy.  I also use it to distinguish it from other methods of healing, as in herbalpathy (another coined phrase for using herbs), naturopathy, naturalpathy, etc., or what is commonly called "alternative" healing or medicines.

    The basis for allopathic meds is for the med to make your body do other than what it's presently doing.  You're running a fever, so the prescribed medicine makes you body temperature drop.  Along with the drug doing what it's supposed to do, it also has side effects.  It's these side effects that are in the small print that make me NOT want to be allopathic, but to do everything "naturally" or take the alternative route.  However, even with me not wanting to take a lot of drugs, I do believe there is a time when one is so far on the dark side (sick) that the allopathic drugs are needed.  Maybe we should do more to recognize sickness before it goes to far and we need that, but I think we're sold out that allopathic doctors are the gods of the day, the cutting edge of healing (cutting for sure), the cure all for everything.

    Hey, I've already admitted that I'm NOT allopathic, and I prefer the alternatives.  I've gone so far on the alternative side that my Hunni's business is selling alternative and herbal supplements.  Oh oh, now I've admitted that I have an agenda of making money since it's part of her business.  Just a little side thought on an agenda: please wake up and realize that there is a larger agenda affecting the U.S. today when it comes to the American Medical Association (AMA), MDs, insurance companies, and an awful lot of hospitals.  My personal opinion is that most of us are at their mercy and won't admit it, or don't understand it.  You can disagree if you like since it's an opinion.

    Now back to the story.  And since you know that I'm already biased, you can take this story with a grain of salt, or with your allopathic meds (ha!)

    I had developed bronchitis and a sinus infection.  Yes, I ignored the symptoms until it was really bothering.  So, while I was at the doctor's office after a hard fight with some other ailments, I got a prescription to really knock the crap out the bronchitis.  The prescription was for 10 days and it really did take care of the bronchitis.  However, it had a little side effect, or two, that has kicked the crap out of me.  And all of that is in the small print.  Of course, when you get the prescription filled, they always ask if you want to speak to the pharmacist about the drug, and I always say no... but maybe should say yes. 

    There's only a few side effects that this drug (something off the amoxicillin/penicillin line) had and only the bolded ones started to hit me after about 6 days of taking it: fever, sore throat, headache (I have migraines everyday, so I don't count this one), skin peeling, nausea, stomach pain, low fever, loss of appetite, dark urine, jaundice, diarrhea, chills, body aches, flu symptoms, easy bruising or bleeding, unusual weakness, agitation (well, maybe), confusion, unusual thoughts or behavior (umm), seizure, black-out, vaginal itching (no way), swollen tongue, dryness of mouth, thrush, and that's most of them.

    So in the 7th day of my healing experience, I call the doc and it's one of those calls that are answered by we'll talk with the doc and see what he wants you to do.....then we'll call you back.  Umm, okay.  Next day it's time to see if they even saw the doc, and it's we'll call you back.  So now we're in the 9th day and it's okay to stop the meds since that might be causing the other symptoms.  I wanted to scream "SYMPTOMS", they're freaking side effects!

    But I'm prejudiced, and not real smart, or I would have recognized the "symptoms" and discontinued the meds.  I have been struggling with my Tai Chi Chuan class since Sunday, couldn't hardly move yesterday and struggled with my officiating, and couldn't move this morning which caused me to miss my morning class and now I'm missing teaching my "Karate Kids" class this afternoon.  And I have to get a teacher for this evening's class.  Geemyknee!

    However, I still survive.

    In The Meantime

    I don't know if it's the clattering of the keyboard that attracts Monaghan, or if he just knows where there's a warm lap when he hears that noise, but I hear a faint meow in the Maine Coon type way (their verbalization is somewhat different than "normal" cats).  He then appears in the doorway, sits up and begs, and then jumps over my arms (hands are on the keyboard) and lands in my lap.  I ignore this large chunk of cat in my lap and keep typing.  So he reaches up with his paw and touches my chin to let me know he's there.  I ignore this and he extends the claws of the paw now resting on my chin to let me know he's there.  Now I look him in the eye, ask his forgiveness for ignoring him, rub his big head, and he doses off.  I unhook his claws from my chin.  He drearily opens his eyes to remind me that he still has an eye on me, which I acknowledge, and he doses off again.

    Oh, and here comes a 17+ pound Blue Point Siamese that wants some attention, too.

    The FogWalker goes off to bed....where there's plenty of room for the animals and the people they own to sleep....with Weird Al singing in the background.....

Comments (2)

  • Just in case your digest emails never work again, I just posted some pictures from my wedding.  We got married on September 14th!! 

    I read your story about allopathic medicine, too. I seem to be biased in the other direction since I work in a hospital laboratory.  I do admit that we are all at their mercy, but I find that when I'm sick, my allopathic medicines make me feel better. I haven't looked into alternative medicines for things like sinus and urinary tract infections.  Right now I am on Amoxicillin, and I haven't had any side effects, unless you count sleeping for 10 hours a night, which I wish I could do all the time, so I don't consider that too bad.  The reason antibiotics cause diarrhea, thrush, and other nasty things is because they can wipe out your "good bacteria" (normal flora) and then you are ravished by the bad ones that the antibiotic doesn't kill.  In the case of thrush, it would be a yeast taking over when your normal flora is killed by the drug.  These kinds of things do happen to me when I take certain antibiotics.  I can't touch the "z-pack" (azithromycin) because it makes me have diarrhea for a week.  So I just tell my doctor which drugs I will not take.  Since I'm married now, and we are not using any form of birth control, I will not take anything that is contraindicated in pregnancy, such as ciprofloxacin.  I don't consider myself at the mercy of healthcare professionals because in a way, I am one, so I am a little bit more educated about what I want to take versus what I absolutely will not take.  And I have no problem speaking up to my doctor!  The problem with most people is lack of knowledge and (the biggie) lack of asking questions or saying NO!

    -Leah

    P.S.  I'm still here, reading your blogs :)

  • I hope your email digest experiment works. 

    Being diabetic, I depend on regular medicine - I guess that's allopathy.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment

Recent Comments

Categories