December 15, 2007

  • Would you raise your child the same way your parents raised you?

    I guess I should answer this in the past tense.  You see, my two sons are now adults, and the raising part is done.  In reality, the raising is never done, but that's another question. 

    But in answer to the question, NO!  I didn't raise my sons like I have been raised.  It's not that I'm smarter or wiser than my parents, it's just that I had a different life than them.  I wanted to give my sons opportunities that I didn't have to excell, but I didn't want to give them the opportunities that I had to get into trouble.  Over-protective?  Maybe.  So what?  I loved my sons and would do everything in my power to protect them.  One of those protections was to be able to have a Hunni that did not work away from home or the children.  Both my parents had to work in order to raise 3 sons, and when I was home alone, I wasn't the best of the sons.  You see, my brothers had graduated HS and were gone from home when I was only graduating from the 6th grade.  That left alot of years for me to be by myself from early morning to early evening, the time when mischief was my middle name.  Or was my middle name "try it"? 

    On the other hand, we raised our sons with our same principles and moral beliefs.  They had choices, but there were some choices that were not theirs to make.  My house, my rules.  I guess I got that from my parents.  So when you figure that into the question, the answer to the question is YES!

    To be all-inclusive in my answer of either "yes" or "no" would probably only be used to give a very shortened version of my opinion.  I can't say a solid one way or another because there are vast differences in the rearing of my children than my parents raising me, and there are vast similarities.  I would be surprised that when one looks back upon this question, after raising their children, that they will find that either saying yes or no will not suffice.

    I just answered this Featured Question, you can answer it too!

    Sometimes, I wonder why I answer the Featured Question, do you?

    The FogWalker returns to the recliner....the "sickness" is still kicking his butt...sweet oblivion, come!...


Recent Comments

Categories